Leadership in the Florida House:

  • Chair of Insurance and Banking Subcommittee
  • Chair of Oversight, Transparency and Public Management Subcommittee
  • Vice Chair of Healthcare Appropriations
  • Hurricane Response Select Committee 2017-2018

House Committee and Subcommittee service:

  • Agriculture and Natural Resource Policy and Appropriation Subcommittee
  • Various Health and Human Service Committees
  • Higher Education and Workforce Subcommittee
  • Children, Families and Seniors Subcommittee
  • Economic Affairs Committee
  • State Affairs Committee
  • Government Operations Appropriations Subcommittee
  • Commerce committee
  • Joint Legislative Auditing Committee
  • Ways and Means Committee
  • Transportation and Tourism Appropriation Subcommittee

County Commissioner District 1 – Elected 2004, 2008, 2012
Vice Chair 2005, 2006 – Chair 2008, 2009

Commission Achievements.

  • Increased savings and reduced taxes during real estate boom
  • Shepherded the county through the great recession
  • Invested in public safety including:
    • Moving the Emergency Operations Center out of an evacuation zone
    • Upgraded Emergency Communication system
    • Added World Golf and Nocatee Fire Stations
  • Secured Right of Way; 9B Extension, CR 2209 & CR 210 and I95 Interchange
  • Secured funding for Ball Fields, Libraries, Boat and Kayak launches, Passive Parks including Alpine Groves Park, Veterans Park, Solomon Calhoun Community Center, Cornerstone Park, Vail Point Park
  • Secured funding for 207 Rail Trail running from Vermont Heights to Palatka, with Trail Heads and improvement to the Armstrong community park

Representing the County Commission

  • St Johns River Alliance – Board 2011 to 2014, Chair 2013 to 2014
  • The Bike and Pedestrian Safety Council – FDOT – 2010 to 2014
  • Florida Association of Counties Board of Trustees – 2010 to 2014
  • NE Florida TPO and NE Florida Regional Council
  • Legislative Committee on Intergovernmental Relations –Governor Appointment
  • Public Safety Coordinating Council of St Johns County